RD One’s red-label bourbon raises a useful question: what does “finished with French oak” mean when the bourbon stays in its original barrel? The answer is in the staves RD1 adds after the whiskey’s initial maturation, not in a second cask.

That distinction makes this bottle more interesting than a list of dessert-like tasting notes. It also leaves a few fair questions about finishing time and the provenance of individual batches.

At a glance

  • RD One Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey Finished With French Oak is bottled at 101 proof (50.5% ABV).
  • RD1 says the underlying bourbon ages at least four years before French oak staves are added to its barrel.
  • The finish uses added wood inside the original barrel, rather than a transfer into a French oak cask.
  • RD1 was founded in 2020; its name refers to a nineteenth-century Lexington distillery, not continuous production since 1865.
  • Published tasters describe overlapping oak, caramel and spice notes, but differ on the finish and overall complexity.

A stave finish, not a second cask

According to RD1’s description of the bourbon, the straight whiskey first spends more than four years in new American oak barrels. The company then inserts French oak staves into those barrels for further maturation. RD1 says the French wood comes from central France, is seasoned in Northern California for two to three years, and is milled and toasted to its specifications.

The practical difference is worth remembering: “French oak finished” here describes additional contact with wood, not time in a former wine or Cognac cask. RD1 does not state a precise stave-contact period on its current product page. A 2024 Breaking Bourbon review reported an additional two to four months, citing the company’s website at the time; that historical figure should not be treated as a guaranteed specification for every bottle.

Nor does French oak erase what came before it. Under the TTB’s explanation of straight bourbon, the underlying whiskey must spend at least two years in new, charred oak containers. RD1’s stated four-plus years describes its bourbon before the added stave finish. Neither the age nor the finishing method, by itself, tells a reader whether the resulting flavors will suit them.

The Lexington name and the whiskey’s origin

RD1 stands for Registered Distillery One, a reference to Ashland Distillery’s historic designation in Lexington. The modern company says it was founded in 2020; the nineteenth-century name is an homage, not evidence that this bourbon was distilled at the original site. RD1 opened its Lexington destination and research-and-development distillery at The Commons in May 2025.

That visitor site should not be confused with the source of the core bourbon. In its opening announcement, RD1 said its Kentucky straight bourbon continued to be produced at Western Kentucky Distilling in Beaver Dam, while the Lexington facility was intended for experimentation with distillation and wood finishes. The distinction matters because a brand’s headquarters, finishing work and distillation need not happen in the same place.

There is a chronological wrinkle for older bottles. The Kentucky Distillers’ Association reported that Western Kentucky Distilling began production in July 2023, after RD One’s French oak bourbon had already reached the market. Breaking Bourbon’s 2024 review identified its sample as sourced from an undisclosed Kentucky distillery or distilleries. RD1’s later production arrangement should therefore not be read backward as proof of where every earlier batch was distilled.

What published tastings actually say

RD1’s own producer-provided notes put caramel and dark cherry on the palate, followed by chocolate, drying oak and a touch of smoke. Those are the company’s descriptions, not independently verified properties of every pour. Its language about French oak making the bourbon mellow is likewise a marketing characterization, not a measurable promise.

Independent accounts provide a less uniform picture. Breaking Bourbon reported citrus and baking spice on the nose, chocolate and marshmallow on the palate, and raspberry alongside oak on the finish. Its reviewer singled out an oily mouthfeel while finding that the whiskey lacked some depth and complexity. Those judgments belong to that reviewer and the sample tasted in 2024.

Whiskey historian Michael Veach and his tasting partner, writing in November 2024, both noted caramel, apple, cinnamon and oak. Their account gives more space to ginger and spice than to the chocolate-and-berry character in Breaking Bourbon’s description. The overlap points to oak and baking spice as recurring observations; the differences are a reminder that a tasting note is a person’s report, not an ingredient list.

What the details can—and cannot—tell you

The clearest identity for this bottle is its stated 101 proof, Kentucky straight bourbon base, four-plus years of initial maturation and in-barrel French oak stave finish. “Red label” is convenient shorthand, but the full product name distinguishes it from RD1’s other wood-finished expressions. It also prevents confusion with a bourbon finished in a used French wine barrel, which is not the process RD1 describes here.

The less certain details deserve equal care. RD1’s current product description does not specify an exact finishing duration, and a modern account of its distilling partner cannot establish the source of every historical batch. Reviews offer useful, sometimes conflicting expectations about aroma and flavor, but they cannot settle how another bottle—or another palate—will respond to the oak.

Sources